Modifications
Titan Quest - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Skin Making Tutorial?

Exclamation Skin Making Tutorial?

I'm totally new to Titan Quest, and totally new to modding. Because of this, I'm immediately sort of screwed.

Right off the bat, I've had a lot of fun using the 1.17 patch + AllSkins 0.8 mod. Looking through all of the different user made skins has been inspiring. I used to make skins (faces/clothes) for the Sims 1, and I got pretty good at it. Something I've been disappointed to see is how little variation there has been on the faces in Titan Quest skins, so I was excited to try my hand at making some new skins that primarily focused on NEW faces (like you see in Vivienne's asian skin).

I've run into an obvious problem though.

Modding texture files in Titan Quest is not nearly as simply as modding skins in the Sims is. The Sims had bmp files in the game files that you could simply copy, edit, and put back in the correct folder. Titan Quest seems to have arz files, which I know nothing about. Today I found an "arzexplorer", so I will mess with that, but I really have no idea what I'm doing here.

I tried following the "How To Make Skins" stickied topic, but it really was no help. It assumes you have folders that the game doesn't comes with right off the bat, and it also assume you know to navigate arz files. It doesn't even tell you what you need to navigate arz files. I'm sure it's a great tutorial, but only for people who already know how to mod this game. To complete newbies, it basically skips a whole mess of steps and leaves you completely in the dark.

Now I've searched high and low for any other skin making tutorials, but there's NOTHING. From hearing how active and extensive the modding community for Titan Quest was, I'm surprised there is really no helpful resources for new modders. If there were, I'd expect there would be so much more support and new modders for this game. Instead the modding community seems sluggish at best.