Modifications
Titan Quest - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Cant Start Game

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2

    Cant Start Game

    Was hoping someone here could help me, couldn't find anything using search. Im running Windows 7 Beta, which I've heard can run TQ just fine. I've installed the game and the expansion and updated to 1.30, but when I go to launch it (either through TQ or IT), i get the error "Titan Quest.exe has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Please close the program." I found an event log, which ill post below, saying my engine.dll might be screwed up, so i tried to download the one from the Original Game Files thread of this forum and replace it, but it didnt change anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I really want to play

    System Information
    ------------------
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7100) (7100.winmain_win7rc.090421-1700)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
    System Model: GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
    BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor (4 CPUs), ~1.6GHz
    Memory: 4096MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 4094MB RAM
    Page File: 1301MB used, 6883MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    DxDiag Version: 6.01.7100.0000 32bit Unicode

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x9441)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9441&SUBSYS_24401682&REV_00
    Display Memory: 2808 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 1017 MB
    Shared Memory: 1790 MB
    Current Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)




    ****************************************

    Log Name: Application
    Source: Application Error
    Date: 8/4/2009 12:50:47 PM
    Event ID: 1000
    Task Category: (100)
    Level: Error
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: Kloud-PC
    Description:
    Faulting application name: Titan Quest.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4589bbca
    Faulting module name: Engine.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4589bb02
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x00012e1b
    Faulting process id: 0x2c8
    Faulting application start time: 0x01ca153cdbbd14c4
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\THQ\Titan Quest\Titan Quest.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\THQ\Titan Quest\Engine.dll
    Report Id: 1a456c85-8130-11de-9177-00241d1c62ad
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Error" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>100</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-08-04T19:50:47.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>20337</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>Kloud-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data>Titan Quest.exe</Data>
    <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
    <Data>4589bbca</Data>
    <Data>Engine.dll</Data>
    <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
    <Data>4589bb02</Data>
    <Data>c0000005</Data>
    <Data>00012e1b</Data>
    <Data>2c8</Data>
    <Data>01ca153cdbbd14c4</Data>
    <Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\THQ\Titan Quest\Titan Quest.exe</Data>
    <Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\THQ\Titan Quest\Engine.dll</Data>
    <Data>1a456c85-8130-11de-9177-00241d1c62ad</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>


    If you need more info, reply and ill post it

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Poinas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5,537

    Re: Cant Start Game

    That exception code is cause by an access violation error, which in turn can be caused by various things.

    How did you update to 1.30? Basically you shouldn't do that since you have the expansion. The latest official version for IT is 1.1. 1.30 is for TQ without the expansion.

    Uninstall TQ/IT and install TQ, install IT. Launch the game with IT icon, always. You don't have to apply any patches. When the game launches, it updates the game to the latest version.

    Always use the IT icon to launch the game.

    If that doesn't solve the issue, then update your graphic card's drivers. Or try some older version. I've had tons of games that didn't like some version of my gfx card's drivers, but worked just fine with newer/older drivers.
    75 Harbinger | 70 Conqueror | 70 Conjurer | 70 Diviner | 70 Spellbreaker | 68 Ranger | 65 Elementalist | 65 Evoker | 65 Bone Charmer | 62 Guardian | 61 Brigand | 61 Thane | 61 Templar | 60 Battlemage | 60 Warden | 59 Haruspex | 58 Slayer | 58 Champion | 55 Druid | 52 Paladin | 50 Oracle | +++

    Guide for All Skills Attribute Guide Custom Mastery Guide
    ------

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2

    Re: Cant Start Game

    Well, I'm really desperate to play this, so I formatted my hard drive, reinstalled windows 7, and updated all drivers. Installed TQ and IT right after, same exact error. I dunno what could be wrong. Any other suggestions? I really want to play

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •