PDA

View Full Version : Quest Editor Tokens



Electroflux
03-17-2011, 03:38 PM
I'm trying to follow the Quest Editor tutorial provided but I can't make any tokens because of this -

http://oi52.tinypic.com/vrwnyr.jpg

Well, that's impossible because I made the original Tokens.bin not read only and it's still saying that. The problem is, I can't change it. Everything is locked up and I can't even re-select the file again.


This is off-topic but is there anymore comprehensive guides (preferably video) on the Quest Editor? I understand everything else for the most part but I can't figure out how to use this Quest Editor with the documentation provided with the game because there isn't enough actual screenshots to help me figure out if I'm doing it right or not.

EDIT: Herp derp, I figured it out. Apparently there's a configuration file I could just rename the file location through it. Works now. But the second question still needs an answer xD

EDIT AGAIN: Okay, I was following the modders guide (http://titanquestvault.ign.com/View.php?view=Guides.Detail&id=21) but now I'm stuck at this -

http://oi52.tinypic.com/fd64w4.jpg

I click the Database tab (under my mod) and there's nothing there but an empty folder. How am i supposed to navigate to something that isn't there?

EDIT Once Again: Okay, so I tried skipping that part and I tried loading my quest -

http://oi53.tinypic.com/dw6h4o.jpg

It's called Act1TutorialQuest and as you can see, it's not there. You know, this is really confusing and I think this guide is outdated. Is there anything else that can help me make my own quests with my own dialogues? This is just frustrating.

jiaco
03-17-2011, 04:38 PM
Dont worry, it only gets worse...

Quest and other types of thing have to be built with artmanager and then copied into the TQIT install folders in order to show up in the editor. Some people say to change the locations in artmanager to point to there in the first place, I just always copy it over (use total commander or something that can actually copy as windows sucks at things like that).

In the modding wiki, there is reference to this somewhere, maybe for sound layers or I do not remember where, but whenever you cannot find stuff in the editor it is because it needs to be in the database or resources folder of the TQIT install, not in My Games/yadda/yadda.

Electroflux
03-17-2011, 04:44 PM
So you're saying I need to take -

http://oi53.tinypic.com/2dinc5j.jpg

And put it into -

http://oi52.tinypic.com/7088b5.jpg

?

Samsonite
03-17-2011, 05:05 PM
Your Build Dir in AM has to be in C:\Program Files (x86)\THQ\Titan Quest Immortal Throne\ It will place a Custom Maps folder in there automatically, to test you need to move it to the My Documents Custom Maps like any other add on. When you load the QE, select your mod and your quests/database for your mod will be viewable, you first need to build a quest folder in your AM and auto create asset so you have a quest folder.

Hope this helps

Electroflux
01-22-2013, 10:29 AM
Okay, so here's the thing..

http://i.imgur.com/A6q4Bik.png?1

Look, the custommaps folder is there, but I can't f***ing see it in my actual folder! Only if I try finding it with the art manager!

http://i.imgur.com/vu7DaGs.png

I've redirected every single folder to my C:\Program Files (x86)\THQ\Titan Quest Immortal Throne\ folder. I have nothing set to the clearly broken folder in My Documents\My Games\ etc etc.

This is p***ing me off. I can't find a god damn proper guide anywhere that explains any of this garbage. I just want to know how to make these damn quests! I know how to do everything else!

spectre
01-22-2013, 02:43 PM
Looks like Win7 is playing hide and seek with you (it did that to me too, while I was making my Patchfix). Long story short: If you create/copy something in some of Win7's protected folders (Program Files being one of them), it gets moved to a hidden folder in the "Virtual Store". The only thing that's making me unsure if the same happened to you, is that I had a button labeled "compatibility files" (or something similar) next to the "New folder" button. :neutral:

This also a good example why you should do your modding in the My Games folder (why is it broken for you, btw?) and set the paths in the Artmanager accordingly. See that thread for reference: http://www.titanquest.net/tq-forum/threads/31156-HOWTO-Setup-Artmanager

Electroflux
01-22-2013, 02:48 PM
Well, whenever I used the the tokens in the My Games section, it wouldn't let me open them because it claims they are "read-only". Also, as stated above, people have said that if Art Manager isn't completely directed to the program files section, then I'll be missing some vital "resources" for future quests and what not.

So with that alone, I just redirected all the locations to the program files section instead, so I wouldn't have issues, at least I hoped.

I had a feeling that the folder was hidden, so under control panel and so forth, I enabled it so I can see hidden folders (and it does work), however, that folder still isn't there. It clearly exists, because Art Manager is loading from something, but Windows just won't let me see that damn folder for some reason. I can't even search for it.

I'll follow what you posted and probably head back to the My Games folder (since it did work, other then the read-only issue).

Thanks for the post, by the way. As you can see, this thread was from 2011. I've been wanting to do this stuff for a long fricken time but I've been so frustrated with the questing issues that I haven't been working on it.

spectre
01-22-2013, 04:36 PM
Well, it is possible that there are some specialties when modding quests. I never did that, so the people who told you to do so might know more than I do... (The only thing I did was editing one quest of the game itself...)

You can try to search for that folder here: C:\Users\<yourusername>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\


Thanks for the post, by the way. As you can see, this thread was from 2011. I've been wanting to do this stuff for a long fricken time but I've been so frustrated with the questing issues that I haven't been working on it.
Well, then let's hope you are luckier this time ;) What are you working at, if I may ask?

Electroflux
01-22-2013, 04:44 PM
OMG! That is where the folder is!!

Do you think I can just take the folder out of there and toss it in the spot it should be? That way I can actually see it...

Omg, this saved me so much finding that folder.

Well, what I'm working on is really a campaign for my brother and I to play online together. I thought if I created something unique it would be cool to have a huge play-through. If it does turn out to be pretty good...I could just release it and have other people play it, too, but this was the intent anyway.